Let’s Create a Sand Kingdom With Sand Magic – Chapter 12

Barely got time to translate, so busy that is why they are not so regularly, 5 more chapters till end of 1st arc, I see that a lot of you are in favour of going only sand kingdom, but it got kinda low rating on novel updates, probably because it’s not super adventures but more casual. Anyway, here is 2nd chapter of the week 🙂

-Kukix

12. Desert Tower

Collecting the sorghum was the right thing to do. And thanks to Isis’s magic, I was able to create   a field around the oasis.

My Sand magic evened out sand to a certain extent, but thanks to the sand around the oasis that became good soil, a good field was created in combination with Isis’ magic.

I replanted the sorghum there and grew it. Because of Isis’s Life magic, the sorghum grew quickly and was ready to be harvested.

The good thing about this sorghum is that it is very easy to make a delicious bread with it. Just grind the sorghum into a flour, mix it with water, knead it, and bake it. It’s very simple, but tastes great.

„Regular sorghum is a little bitter, but white sorghum doesn’t have that, and it’s rich in nutrients.“

I see. Isis sure knows her stuff. When I ate it with the honey Mel had given me, it was delicious.

„So, Lord-dono. What will you be doing today?“

„Well….“

Ein asked me about my plans for the day. We’ve got a base to work from now. Even though it’s desert, it’s now an oasis, and we’ve prepared a field.

And now we have iron sand, which Ein kindly shared with us. Yes, that’s it!

„Now that Ein has shared it with me, I might as well incorporate it into my sand castle.“

„Oh! I think that’s a very good idea!“

As usual, Ein agrees with me without any question.

Mel and Isis don’t seem to be complaining, either. It seems that Isis had originally envisioned this as a way that I will use iron sand.

So today I took a look around the castle, and for the time being, I covered the normal sand with iron sand and coated it with a thin layer of iron. I think it looks like something very sturdy…

„Oh my, this is magnificent!“

„But it’s a little imposing, isn’t it?“ (TN: it’s a little stuffy was original thing I was going to, but I think this describes it better, If you describe someone or something as imposing, you mean that they have an impressive appearance or manner)

„No, I think it’s better to have this kind of impact.“

For what do you need impact like this in the middle of the desert? Anyway, I rebuilt the walls with iron sand. However, iron alone is not tough enough, so I left some sand on the walls.

But still—

„Did you return it to original?“

„Only in appearance. I felt that sand castle with normal sand would be more welcoming.“

„I understand. I also think sand castle with normal sand appearance has a better feel to it.“

„Yes! I like this one better, too. And I think it suits the Lord-sama!“

Isis also agreed with me and Mel is affirming me.

„And it’s not as if I didn’t use iron sand. It’s layered into sand, iron sand, and sand again. It makes the castle stronger, and it’s all thanks to the iron sand that Ein brought us.“

„Thank you very much for your kind words! One more thing is engraved in this Ein’s heart!“

Hmmm…. I don’t think that’s such a big deal.

„By the way, Lord-dono. Why don’t you build a tower here?“

„Tower?“

I pondered about Ein’s question.

„Do we need a tower in the desert?“

„Lord-dono, even though it is a desert, this area is surprisingly uneven. The ground is higher in the west and north, and there are many sand dunes. If the enemy comes, they may be able to spy on us from the other side. If we have towers, we can be on the lookout, and it will also serve as a deterrent in case hostile forces show up.“

Ho-hostile forces? As expected from Ein who looks like knight, he’s very aware of such things.

But what kind of enemy would appear in the middle of the desert?

„This is the desert, do you think there will be any hostile forces?“

„Lord-dono, such a splendid oasis has been constructed and a castle has been built. Of course, it would be best if nothing were to happen, but I think it’s best to be prepared.“

I see. I’m starting to feel that way now that he said it that way. Then—

„Sand magic – ‘Sand Tower’!“ (TN: original sand tower Satou or Suna mahō suna tō Satō!)

I created a tower of iron sand on the spot with my magic. Of course, this time I used iron sand as the main material.

„Oh! How magnificent! I’m deeply moved!“

Ein shed tears of joy. Is it impressive th-that much?

„Wow!“

„Ngo!“

„This tower is enough to show the prestige of the Lord-sama.“

P-prestige? Mel said that, but I didn’t mean to go that far.

Mmm, while I was building it I thought it needs to be higher than the castle, but this might be spectacular even if I do say so myself.

„Do you want to go up?“

„Yes!“

„Ngo!“

„By all means!“

„I’m excited.“

We decided to go up the tower.

„Wow, the floor moved!“

„It’s not easy to climb this high. I’ve made it move with magic.“

It’s not hard to figure out how it moves, there’s another tower in middle that moves up and down. (TN: eh, lift? Hello?)

And in no time at all, we were at the top of the tower.

„Amazing, what a magnificent view!“

„Yes! As expected from our Lord-sama. It’s just like the Lord-sama to build such a huge tower that overlooks everything in the blink of an eye.“

„Of course. The power of the Lord-dono is equal to that of a god!“

The evaluation of Mel and Ein is too high!

And Isis seemed to be impressed by the view from the tower. It was in the middle of the desert, but the view from up here was magnificent.

And as Ein had said, the desert certainly seemed to have its ups and downs. We could see many sand dunes, and at a distance we could see craggy rock mountains. (TN: craggy – rough and uneven)

„Ngo! Ngo!“

„Ah, Raku, be careful!“

Then, I saw Raku climbing up the wall of the tower and standing on the edge, looking happy. I was impressed by his dexterity, and he was happy, but it was definitely a little dangerous.

„Kyeeeeeeeeee!“

„Ngo!?“

„Eh? Raku? Raku!“

„Ngoooooooooooo!“

Then, Raku was caught and taken away by a monster bird that suddenly came down.

„That’s the Desert Albatross! It’s a ferocious demon beast bird!“

Ein told me that. That means Raku will be eaten if we don’t stop it!

„Ra-Raku will….“

„Don’t worry! I’ll save him!“

„Eh? Lord-dono!“

I immediately jumped down from the tower. Ein seemed to be worried about me, but I used Sand magic to soften my foothold, landed, and chased after Raku, using ‘Suzanami’ I will quickly catch up to them.

„Oh! As expected from Lord-dono!“

„Isis, wait for me here! Ein and Mel, you also stay here!“

After telling everyone that, I followed after the desert albatross—

<<<Previous

Next>>>

10 thoughts on “Let’s Create a Sand Kingdom With Sand Magic – Chapter 12

  1. Honestly with these types of stories don’t expect good ratings on NU since most reviews tend to favor edgy content and abhores any type of laid back story.
    For examply Isekai Nonbiri Nouka got a lot of hating reviews there but you can go check the patreon of the translator and it’s like upwards of 800$, same with something like greatest alchemist.
    That’s not to say that every laid back story with a settlement creation setting will work, whether this continues to pull in people or repel them would be something up to your judgement as you continue to read raws.

    On a side note, that plant master kicked out novel has been picked up by foxaholic i think? they already are 11 chapters in so it might end up being very hard to wrestle the novel from them

    Liked by 2 people

    1. About your first point I understand that a lot of people can love one series and people like to have some edgy or really great plot action from the start so we will see.
      On side note -Someone was here on 6th of may to ask me for raws and I guess it was the translator guy or someone from foxaholic, well still I am glad that it was picked up since it sounds interesting. I don’t really have time for many chapters per week since I started working recently.

      Like

      1. I don’t quite understand what you mean, but teaser projects are currently being voted and since “weakest” has been taken by foxaholic I won’t be translating it for sure, but maybe will pick up banished from hero party alongside this one or just keep translating only this one.

        Like

  2. but it got kinda low rating on novel updates

    As ttp said, it’s a lot of negativity from people who want edgy stuff or don’t even read into it and just rate based on tags or chapter 1.

    There’s a lot of instances where mods would have to go to a novel and remove 1 star ratings because some people love giving 1 star to anything and everything that isn’t that exact series that they love.

    A lot of interested readers also don’t go rate it but read the next thing when they end another stories chapter or something like such.
    I for one don’t rate things and, I think, I have only rated 3 series or so.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. … Yep. A magic lift/elevator… I wonder what logic it uses to move up and down… Is it like the golems? Autonomous elevator?

      OK, Albatross… What’s next? Desert Gull, Desert Turkey and Desert Pidgeon?

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started