Let’s Create a Sand Kingdom With Sand Magic – Chapter 13

One more late night chapter, I don’t think it’s a good idea to eat ice-cream at evening, but I still eat it anyways, can’t resist it. Chap-san is here, enjoy 🙂

-Kukix

13. Chase in the desert

„Wait, wait—!“

„Ngo~ngo~!“

Raku called out for help as he watched me chasing after him.

„Hang on, I’m coming to help you.“

„Ngo! Ngongo!“

Raku looked at me with hopeful eyes. I can’t let Isis’s precious friend become monster food!

I used Sand magic to create a wave of sand to get closer to the monster bird, and then switched to another spell when I got close to the monster bird.

„’Sand Pillar’!“

The sand beneath my feet turned into a pillar and grew all the way up to the height where the desert albatross was flying.

„’Sand Giant Fist’!“

I hit the monster bird with a huge fist made out of sand. It was a clean hit and the monster bird stopped moving.

„Guh!“

The monster bird groaned and let go of Raku. It was a good thing, but he started to fall and gained momentum. That momentum was not good.

I stretched out sand pillar in the direction of Raku’s fall. Using it as a launch pad, I took off and chased after Raku.

„Ngoooooo!“

„Rakuuuuu!“

I caught up with Raku in his descent, screaming, and I jumped on his back. And then I used magic! (TN: they are doing a little bit of bungee jumping xD)

„’Sand Ball’!“

I turned the sand into a ball and wrapped me and Raku in it. I made it resilient, so it would absorb the impact when we fall.

And then we fell onto the sand. Phew, thank goodness, me and Raku are both safe.

I looked up at the sky and saw that the monster bird had also fled. Thank God, it isn’t coming after us anymore.

„Ngongo!“

„It’s okay, it’s okay, I’m glad you’re not hurt.“

I landed in the sand and Raku rubbed his head against me and licked my face. I guess he was showing his appreciation.

Now, I can’t see what’s going on around me exactly, so I have to release the spell. The sand ball crumbled back into sand. My vision suddenly expanded and a dazzling golden light flashed into my field of vision.

„Eh? What is this?“

„Ngooooooooooo!“

Raku was surprised, and I’m surprised too. After all, there was gold and gold and gold all around us, and the whole are was covered in gold.

Could this be it? I scooped up a handful of sand to check it out.

„I knew it, it’s gold sand.“

It was shining in the sunlight. The color is not dull, and the gold is of pretty good quality.

„Ngonngo.“
„Huh? No, Raku! That’s not something you can eat.“

„Ngo? Ngo! Peppe!“ (TN: peppe is sound of him spitting out something)

When I warned Raku because he had a mothful of gold sand in his mouth, he didn’t seem to enjoy it either and immediately spat it out.

I wonder if it looked tasty because of its bright color.

„But why is there gold sand in such a place?“

„Ngo?“

When I tilted my head, Raku joined me in tilting his head. It looks like we’re in a basin surrounded by hills.

Visual aid – This is basin and you just replace the lake with gold sand and basically something like that

The surrounding area is filled with gold sand.

„Ngo! Ngo!“

„Hmm, I don’t know who it belongs to, so I can’t take it without permission.“

Raku was poking at the gold and appealing, „Do you want to take it?“ And so I answered because he was appealing to me. It seems unnatural for something likes this to have occurred naturally.…

But still, it’s a strange place. Somehow, though, I was able to use ‘Sand Detection’ to check out the surroundings. Gold sand is also sand, so it is subject to my magic.

„Oh?“

I was curious about one spot buried in gold sand. I approached it with Raku and used magic to move the gold sand away, revealing a hole that leads underground.

 „Maybe it’s a labyrinth?“ (TN: yes labyrinth meikyou not dungeon)

„Ngo?“

Raku looked into the hole with a look of „What’s that?“

„Wait, it’s dangerous if there is a trap, so you shouldn’t put your face in hole like that.“

„Ngo!“
Raku retracted his head in panic. It’s good to be curious, but sometimes a careless act can lead to danger.

But still, a labyrinth, huh….there was one in the empire also, but it is quite an important exploration place for people in the profession called adventurers, so labyrinths were occasionally discovered in this world.

There are many dangers in the labyrinth, but even considering that, there are also a lot of resources and treasures that can be found there. Moreover, it is said that the labyrinth changes its internal structure on a regular basis, and the treasures and resources are replaced each time. (TN: I’m not quite sure if resources is good word to use here, can’t think of another word to replace it)

If this is a labyrinth, I might feel a bit romantic. Maybe that’s why there’s so much gold sand here.

Let’s go in just for a little bit…First, I use ‘Sand Detection’ to sense inside of it——there doesn’t seem to be any imminent danger.

„Sand magic – ‘Sand Doll’!“

I created a sand golem about the size of a human. It’s possible to create sand golems out of gold sand because it’s sand after all. Thanks to that, I was able to create a shiny gold golem, but for the time being, I had him walk in front of me, and I decided to follow him.

„Ngo?“

He gave me a look that said „will you be going?“

„Yeah. I don’t think there’s any imminent danger, so I thought I’d explore. Want to join me, Raku?“

„Ngo! Ngo!“

It looks like he’s coming with me. I’m worried about leaving Raku alone, and I think it’s better this way.

So, I decided to take Raku with me to explore the hole. Now, what will we find?

<<<Previous

Next>>>

5 thoughts on “Let’s Create a Sand Kingdom With Sand Magic – Chapter 13

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started