Let’s Create a Sand Kingdom With Sand Magic – Chapter 14

Ufff, really late last chapter of the week, wasn’t home whole day. Also, last few days I started reading korean novel dungeon defence and it’s really interesting, hooked up so didn’t post, I can’t wait to read more, recommending it, well this chapter was also kinda hard to translate, some parts and if you know better translation for some sentenance let me know in comments. Next chapter and then 2 intermissions will end 1st arc.

-Kukix

14. Bottom of the desert

With the gold sand golem in the lead, we descended down the hole leading to the underground. To be honest, I don’t know if this is labyrinth or not.

After all, I’ve heard of labyrinths, but I’ve never explored one myself. I was a member of the royal family, and until I was exiled into the desert, I was mostly in the castle.

„Ngongo!“

Raku seems to be very excited about exploring this place. He’s very curious, isn’t he?

The surrounding walls are made of hardened sand. I can use Sand magic on them.

„Kyikyi!“

As we continued down the hole, suddenly, a golden bat appeared in front of us. It was larger than normal one. It’s easily the size of a hawk.

„Kikyi!“

„Ngo!“

The bat attacked us with ultrasonic waves. My ears are ringing and my head hurts. Raku was having a hard time also, but soon the golem hit it and took it down.

„Thanks for saving us!“

„Ngo!“

When Raku and I thanked the golem, it nodded its head and we headed further in. Since there might be enemies like the ones we just encountered further ahead, I’m going to expand the range of my ‘Sand Detection’.

As we proceeded further, I picked up a reaction of living thing ahead of us. I told the golem to proceed cautiously, and this time a giant scorpion appeared in front of us.

I had some knowledge of it, but I’d never seen one before.

„Ngo!?“
Raku is also surprised at the appearance of giant scorpion.Then the golem went at it and punched the scorpion. The scorpion is covered with a yellow armor and looks hard.

Even the golem might not be able to break it. The scorpion attacks with its tail and the pincers on both hands. Its tail is known to be poisonous, but it’s safe because the golem is immune to poison. (TN: pincers, or claws it’s the same I used pincers since I think it best describes scorpions hands)

Just as I was thinking, „I’ll let the golem take care of this“, the wall behind us burst open and a snake with sand-colored skin appeared behind us.

„Kishaaaaaaaaa!“

„Ngo!“

Raku’s eyeballs nearly popped out in surprise. I guess he didn’t expect that snake would appear from the wall.

It’s a big snake. It’s so large that it can easily swallow the whole Raku. But I won’t let that happen!

„’Sand Spear’!“

I unleash several ‘Sand Spears’. They pierce the skin of the snake and snake screams, and I use more magic as it starts to fall back.

„Sand magic – ‘Sand Skewer’!“ (TN: honestly I don’t quite understand why he says sand magic before casting spell and sometimes not, but it’s like that in raws so I’ll leave it like this)

A sharp piece of sand shots up from right under the snake and skewers it. Now the snake can’t move anymore.

Now, when I looked at the golem, I saw that it had just defeated the scorpion. Even though it was hard, scorpion seemed to have been unable to withstand the golem’s repeated blows.

I’m not sure if it was a demon or magical beast, but whatever it was, I was able to deal with it with my golem and Sand magic. In the meantime, we reached the end of the hole and ended up in a large hall. (TN: 2nd part of sentenance I have no idea what it means exactly original is そうこうしている内に横穴が終わりを告げ、大きな広間に出ることが出来たけど (Sōkō shite iru uchi ni yokoana ga owari o tsuge, ōkina hiroma ni deru koto ga dekitakedo), let me know if you know exactly translation here)

„Wow, it’s so shiny and there is so much gold!“

„Ngo!“

Raku was also surprised, the ceiling, floor and walls are all covered in gold. It’s an amazing hall, but it’s a bit too bright.

At first, I thought it was labyrinth, but I guess not. Is there someone living here? I went further ahead, but there doesn’t seem to be anyone here.

„All I see is a statue on a pedestal.“

It’s a statue of beautiful woman with a lion’s body and eagle’s wings on her back. It has mysterious kind of vibe.

„Hmm, but there’s nothing else but a statue, so I guess we’re in a labyrinth?“

„I’m not a statue, you rude man.“

„Eh? The statue is talking—!“
„Ngooooooooooo!“

Raku suddenly jumped in surprise. I was surprised too. Eh? But just now it said that it isn’t a statue, right?

„I-It’s alive?“

“Naturally, you fool. Myself, as known to all, am Sphinx.”

After all, it’s talking. I am surprised. Appearently she’s called Sphinx.

„I’m sorry, I didn’t notice. Are you the one who lives here?“

„Well, I don’t feel like I’m living in same way humans do, but I guess I am.“

I knew it, she does live here. She seems to be different from humans, but she seems to understand human’s language.

„Nevertheless, you’re quite a strange man.“

„Eh? Me?“

„Who else could it be? Not taking any money from outside and then finding this place and coming here, unbeliveable.“

„Ah, I’m sorry I barged in without permission.“
„…it’s fine. But why didn’t you take the money outside?“

„Because it could have been someone else’s, and it’s actually yours, isn’t it?“

„Kuku, yes, that’s right. The money belongs to this one. If you had tried to take it away, I would have made you undergo trials in order to obtain it.“

Tri-Trials? I don’t know what she’s talking about, but it’s probably a good thing I didn’t take it.

„If this is where you live, then this is not labyrinth, right?“

„Hmm, you are half right and half wrong.“

Half right, half wrong? What the heck does that mean?

„Anyway, this is where this one lives.“

„So that’s it. I apologize for barging in.“

„…You’re quite strange, aren’t you?“

„Eh? Is that so?“

„Ngo?“

I don’t quite understand what the Sphinx wanted to say, and Raku was also tilting his head, not understanding what she meant.

„Most of the people who have seen this room and this one are either afraid or humble. Some of them even attacked me the moment they saw me, but you are none of them.“

I see. Well, we can communicate with each other, but we don’t know each other very well.

I guess I don’t really know what fear and humility is. I think this room is amazing, but it belongs to her (?).

„I’m sorry to have disturbed you without permission. I’ll go now.“
„Ngo.“
„No.“

„Eh?“

I am being stopped?

„You’re an interesting man, stay here. Rest assured, I can guarantee that you will have a comfortable life.“

„Eh? No, I can’t do that!“

„Why? This one likes you, you know that?“

Even if she says such a thing, it’s just too one-sided…..

„I have friends waiting for me outside, so I can’t stay here!“

„I see, but….“

At that moment, the entrance we had come in through was closed with heavy sound.

„Since this one likes you, you will do as I say.“

„….no way….“

I thought you were intelligent and could talk to me normally, but I didn’t think you could be so forceful…..

„If you don’t let me go back, I’ll have to use force.“

„N-ngo.“

Raku looks worried, but I can’t just sit here and do nothing either.

„Hoho, are you going to fight against this one?“

„If you insist on not letting me go.“

„Hmm, I see, I see. You’re very brave for someone who looks so cute. I like you more and more. Then why don’t you play a game with this one?“

Oh, gee, a game?

<<<Previous

Next>>>

8 thoughts on “Let’s Create a Sand Kingdom With Sand Magic – Chapter 14

  1. Since either you have a comment moderation this going on or something else, my previous comment hasn’t gone through yet, so I’ll be making another comment.

    出来たけど… … … … けど … 何… Either you forgot a piece of that after they came out into a hall or the author messed up that sentence.

    Mysterious is the best fit for shinpi-teki

    As for when the Sphinx is introducing herself:
    “Naturally, you fool. Myself, as known to all, am Sphinx” (Would be my suggestion. A bit more butchered since it doesn’t go well into English)
    Example I found on a site of 心得る:
    ”心得る”的意思是理解为这样。日本的古装剧中有名的台词是水户黄门的”ここにおわす御方を、どなたと心得る。こちらにおわすは、先の副将軍、水戸光圀公であらせられるぞ。””この方をどなただと思っているのか?この方は、先の副将軍、水戸光圀様である。”的意思

    Also, it isn’t the protagonist/author assuming the gender since it was stated that it was a statue of… and I quote your translation earlier in the chapter: “It’s a statue of beatiful woman with a lion’s body and eagle’s wings on her back.”… with beautiful spelled wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The way he says Sand Magic is similiar to Naruto. Where they say the Jutsu’s nature before the name of the jutsu. example: Fire Release, Fireball Technique (Katon: Goukyaku No Jutsu)

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started