Let’s Create a Sand Kingdom With Sand Magic – Chapter 15

Hello guys, I wanted to let you know that I fixed last chapter parts from comment section, so it’s better now, and also I noticed when author uses Sand magic – spell is always when new one shows up so he emphasizes it. There is going to be announcement soon about something, it’s kind of bad news, this is last chapter of 1st arc, 2 side stories are next (or intermissions whatever you want to call them), there will be probably double chap tomorrow and also an announcement about translating. This chapter got a little puzzle in it so it was pretty interesting for me since I like puzzles, without a further ado here’s the chapter.

-Kukix

15. The Sphinx I met in the desert

We were exploring a hole hidden in the gold, and at the end of the hole, Raku and I met the Sphinx.

The Sphinx seems to like me and doesn’t want to let me out of here, but that would be a problem for me. „Then why not play a game with me?“ She said.

„What do you mean by „game“?“

„It’s as it sounds. Originally, it was a trial for those who tried to steal gold sand. If you win the game, you’ll be allowed to leave, with a nice prize.“

„And what if I lose?“

„Normally, I’d eat you.“

„Eeeeeeeeeeeee!?“

„Ngoooooooooooooo!“

My mouth fell open as she said something outrageous. Raku was surprised also and hid behind my back, rubbing his head and shaking.

„I’m sure you’ll be relieved to hear this. Since I’m the one approaching you, I’m going to make an exception this time, because I like you kiddo. So, even if the kiddo loses, you’ll just have to live together with me here.“

That’s what I don’t like.

„What if I don’t play the game and try to get out by force?“

„I’ll do everything in my power to stop you, but I would advise you to not do that. I’m strong. I’ve even been called a divine beast in the past because of my strength.“ (TN: divine beast – kamikemono)

Divine beast…. Even the demon beast is often very strong, but the divine beast is even stronger than that.

She has the intelligence to talk to humans, so I thought she wasn’t just a normal demon beast, but if she’s a divine beast, I’m certainly no match for her, no matter how I try to fight her.

So, I guess…..I’ll just have to accept then.

„Just to confirm, but it’s not game that you can never win, is it? May I ask what it is?“

„Yes, of course. There’s nothing more boring than a game you know you’re going to win. The game is simple. All you have to do is answer the question I ask.“

The problem is….. it’s a contest of brains. I-I’m not very good at that.

„In case you’re wondering, I’m not going to give you insoluble problem. Now, what are you going to do?“ (TN: insoluble – impossible to solve)

„Can I ask you what’s the time limit?“
„Well….“

After the Sphinx lifted a paw, the floor popped open and the gold hit the ceiling and stuck to it. Then, little by little, the gold started to fall. (TN: kinda matrix I read it 5 times to see if I wrote it wrong, but I didn’t, so yeah its kinda weird but that is what it is.)

„You’ll have to answer before all the gold falls from that ceiling. From what I can tell, I’ve given you half a day, a lot more than I have given to the others.“

Half a day, is that so good? Does that mean the others, the ones who once tried to steal the money, had even less time?

“What are you going to do? The gold is already falling.”

“I-I’ll do it!”

I had to make up my mind. I have time. The Sphinx says it’s not a question that can’t be answered if you think about it carefully!

“I see. So, here’s the question. Ready?”

“Yes!”

“Ngo!”

Raku seemed motivated. Anyway, if I don’t answer and get out, everyone will be worried. Then the Sphinx slowly begins to talk about the problem.

„It’s very brutal. It kills humans and creatures alike, and goes to great lengths to commit atrocities. But it is also very kind and compassionate. It reaches out to those in need, sometimes even cutting its own body to help the weak. But it is also very greedy. It is obsessed with money and material things, sometimes even robbing others to get them, but still not satisfied. But at the same time, it is also full of love. It gives without regard for itself, and never complains even if it makes itself suffer. It is very brave. It challenges and fights without regard for its life, even if the opponent is far more powerful than it. But it is also very cowardly. It fears death far into the future, and even desires eternity–now, what is it?“ (TN: try to answer it in you head, I had fun thinking what it is)

The Sphinx’s narration ended. Her voice was so beautiful that I couldn’t help but listen, but, this is the problem?

„What do you think? Well, there’s still a lot of time. Take your time to think about it.“

„Well, can I answer it now?“

The Sphinx’s right eyebrow twitched as I said this.

„Are you sure ? Just so you know, you only get one chance to answer.“

„Umm, yes. I think I’ll be fine.“

„….I understand. You can answer now.“

„ Yes. The answer is human.“

So I aswered. The Sphinx rolled her eyes, and then…..

„Fufu, fuha, fuhahahahahahahahaha.“

She turned her upper body upside down and started laughing out loud. What? No way—

„Was I wrong?“
„N-ngo…..“

Raku also looked uneasy. So I stroked his neck to take away some of his anxiety, and he rubbed his head against me.

He is so cute, but if I’m wrong—

„Fu, fu, no, you’re right.“

„What? Oh, thank God!“ (TN: again these 2nd part is yokatta which means I’m glad or it was good, but I’m putting like this because it emphases meaning more)

„Ngoooo!“

Both Raku and I slumped down on the spot. I was so nervous.

„Even so, I’m surprised you were able to answer it so easily.“

„Um, but, I mean, wouldn’t you usually be angry?“

„What’s there to be angry about? You won the game. If you have something to say, say it.“

„Yeah, well, the problem wasn’t that hard, it was a bit of letdown…. Was there someone who couldn’t answer this?“ (TN: was there? I wonder)

The Sphinx’s problem applied to humans. Humans can threaten others unfairly, or they can reach out to those in need.

„They couldn’t answer that, at least not the humans who came here before. Do you know why?“

„Ummm….“

Honestly, that’s probably the more difficult question for me.

„It’s because humans are the ones who know the least about humans. Sometimes their pride gets in the way. I’ve had people come in who claimed to be priests, but they were so blinded by gold and they truly believed themselves to be noble. When they hear the answer, they usually get angry. They start saying „I’m not that kind of human“. It’s a funny story.“

I then chuckled. So that’s how it is, huh? I don’t really understand it.

„Well, since I answered correctly, can you get me out of here?“
„Oh, that’s right. Then…“

When I asked, Sphinx nodded, and then its body began to shine.

So dazzling…. I wondered what was going on, but after a while, the light subsided. And there was no Sphinx, but a brown- skinned beauty standing in its place. Huh, what’s that?

„Erm, where’s the Sphinx?“

„What are you talking about? I’m right here.“
„What? Eeeeeeeeeee! You’re Sphinx!?“

„Ngooooooooooooooooo!“

I’m surprised. She was so huge just a moment ago, and now she looks like an absolute beauty.

Sphinx

„What is there to be surprised about? It’s easy to take a human form when you’re someone great as me.“ (妾ぐらいになれば人の身になることなど容易い (Mekake gurai ni nareba hito no mi ni naru koto nado tayasui’ sōiu monona nda) quite hard one, again if you have any better meaning let me know for second part of sentenance)

So, that’s how it is, huh……. As expected from divine beast.

„But why did you take human form?“
„Hmm, did you forget? I said that if you win the game, I would give you a prize.“

Oh yeah, I’m pretty sure she said something like that….. Could it be?

„Umm, could that prize be …..“

„Yes, it’s me, Sphinx. From now on, this one belongs to the Lord. Please treat me favorably, my Lord.“ (TN: last one is yoroshiku please take care of me, or will be in your care same meaning)

<<<Previous

Next>>>

5 thoughts on “Let’s Create a Sand Kingdom With Sand Magic – Chapter 15

  1. well, if it’s a bad announcement about translating then it’s probably something related to your real life circumstances. even tho i know not what this is about if my guess is correct then i wish you best of luck and thank you for everything so far

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I heard game I was like “It’s going to be the riddle of ‘man’ and how they have 4, 2, 3 legs in the ‘morning, noon, evening'” but in the end it was about humanity itself and the things it can/could/would/does do.

    little boy – kid or kiddo is what people usually go with with bouya.

    Whatever the bad thing is, I hope it’s overcome and doesn’t burden you. Thanks for even translating this far along, otherwise I wouldn’t have even heard of this story since I rarely go story diving since a few years now.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started